Trusted when it’s critical

Clients choose us to steer them through crucial cases, often involving important legal, ethical and social issues.

View our barristers

Recent news

Explore our news archive

Bridget Dolan QC secures HRA damages award for claimant after wrongly enforced cessation of sexual relations

18th August 2017

Bridget acted for the successful claimant in this unique claim for damages for breach of Article 8 ECHR brought against a local authority who wrongfully failed to provide sexual education to a learning disabled man for over a year.

The LA had in the meantime required him to cease sexual relations with his wife on the grounds of his lack of capacity.

It required an application to the the Court of Protection before sex education was eventually provided Mr CH who then demonstrated his capacity and so could resume marital sexual relations.

Bridget was instructed on behalf of the Official Solicitor by Caroline Hurst of Switalskis.

You can read the judgment here.

This case has attracted considerable press attention, both nationally (please click here) and internationally (please click here and here).

Previous Next

Chambers welcomes Andrew Perfect (2007 Call)

8th August 2017

We’re pleased to announce that Andrew Perfect (2007) has joined Serjeants’ Inn Chambers.

Andrew practises in clinical negligence, inquests, personal injury, and costs. To view his profile, please click here.

Andrew is a strong court advocate, equally comfortable bringing and defending medical negligence claims. His clear and succinct advice is highly regarded by solicitors, who describe him as robust and sensible. He is particularly sought out where there are difficult client issues or particular sensitivity is required.

An established practitioner, Andrew’s arrival adds to the depth and range of experience in our areas of practice. His arrival demonstrates our ongoing commitment to building the expertise and service we offer to our clients.

Previous Next

Judgments in the case of Charlie Gard

3rd August 2017

Judgment at first instance, 11 April 2017: here

Judgment in the Court of Appeal, 23 April 2017: here

Supreme Court’s determination of application for permission to appeal, 8 June 2017: here

Supreme Court judgment (reasons for granting a limited extension to stay), 19 June 2017: here  

European court of Human Rights’ decision, 27 June 2017: here

Subsequent High Court judgment, 24th July: here

Previous Next

Sarah Clarke QC prosecutes confiscation hearing in Schroders Fund Manager Insider Dealing case.

28th July 2017

Sarah Clarke QC, co-head of our Business and Specialist Crime Team, prosecuted this hearing against Damian Clarke, who was sentenced in June 2016 to two years’ imprisonment having pleaded guilty to nine counts of insider dealing.

In total, Damian Clarke derived a benefit of £719,658.69 from his criminal conduct which included the nine indicted stocks and seven further stocks. It was agreed that the value of Mr Clarke’s interest in various assets amounted to £350,000 and therefore, a confiscation order was made in that sum.

See here for further information

Previous Next

Michael Mylonas QC, Amy Street and Susanna Rickard involved in High Court Harley Street clinic IVF dispute

21st July 2017

Michael and Susanna are acting for a businessman who is suing IVF Hammersmith, a private Harley Street fertility clinic, after his ex-partner allegedly forged his signature in order to conceive his child without his knowledge.

Amy Street was previously instructed in the case before starting parental leave.

The case, which is a claim for breach of contact, has significant implications concerning the regulation of IVF treatment and has attracted considerable press attention.

Click here for press coverage

Previous Next

Charlie Gard – Position Statements

3rd August 2017

Position Statement on behalf of the parents of Charlie Gard, Constance Yates and Christopher Gard, 24th July 2017.
Please click here

Position Statement of the Guardian of Charlie Gard, 24th July 2017.
Please click here

Position Statement of Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust, 13th July 2017.
Please click here

Position Statement of Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust, 24th July 2017.
Please click here

Position Statement of Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust, 25th July 2017.
Please click here

Previous Next

Chambers blogs

Social Responsibility


Serjeants’ Inn is committed to pro bono work and provides financial and practical support to Friends in Law and First 100 Years: read more



Serjeants’ Inn specialises in important, high profile medical, police, regulatory, criminal and public law cases, often involving political, ethical or social issues: read more

24 Hour Assistance


Serjeants’ Inn frequently deals with urgent applications including injunctions and declarations and provides a 24 hour service for matters requiring immediate assistance: read more


Angus Moon QC 1986 | 2006    Joint Head of Chambers
John Beggs QC 1989 | 2009    Joint Head of Chambers
Sir Robert Francis QC 1973 | 1992
James Watson QC 1979 | 2000
Adrian Hopkins QC 1984 | 2003
George Hugh-Jones QC 1983 | 2010
Michael Mylonas QC 1988 | 2012
Chris Daw QC 1993 | 2013
John de Bono QC 1995 | 2014
Michael Horne QC 1992 | 2016
Katie Gollop QC 1993 | 2016
Bridget Dolan QC 1997 | 2016
Gerard Boyle QC 1992 | 2017
Sarah Clarke QC 1994 | 2017
Debra Powell QC 1995 | 2017
Jemma Lee 2010
Liam Duffy 2012
Samuel Green QC 1998 | 2015    Door Tenant
Huw Lloyd 1975    Door Tenant
Siobhan Goodrich 1980    Door Tenant
Susan Burden 1985    Door Tenant
Charles Foster 1988    Door Tenant
Malcolm Lim 1989    Door Tenant
Anthony Jackson 1995    Door Tenant
Benedict Wray 2009    Door Tenant